);
Contactez-nous

Test Aurora

Avec le test Aurora, nous voulons vous aider à minimiser le coût, le temps et le stress des traitements de fertilité. Le test Aurora fournit des informations précieuses sur la qualité de chacun de vos ovocytes récupérés. Il prédit quel ovocyte a le plus grand potentiel de devenir un bébé.

Le test Aurora:

  • Permet l'identification de l'ovocyte de meilleure qualité.  Il permet le transfert d'un seul embryon qui a les meilleures chances de s'implanter et de devenir un bébé en bonne santé.
  • Augmente considérablement les taux de grossesse par transfert.
  • Réduit le temps nécessaire pour obtenir une grossesse car votre meilleur ovocyte est choisi pour votre premier transfert. Réduit également les coûts car moins de cycles de transfert sont nécessaires.
  • Le test ne présente aucun problème éthique car il est effectué sur les cellules des ovules. Dans les traitements de routine, ces cellules sont normalement éliminées avant l'injection de sperme (ICSI).
  • Confiance accrue dans le transfert d'un seul embryon pour éviter les risques pour la santé associés aux grossesses gémellaires ou triplées.

Notre objectif est d'améliorer les traitements de fertilité, de les rendre accessibles à davantage de couples et de réduire le fardeau global du traitement. Notre objectif est de faire en sorte que le plus de femmes possible soient enceintes dès la première tentative.

Notre devise est un essai, un enfant.

Test Aurora pour ICSI

Le test Aurora mesure la qualité de vos ovules (également appelés ovocytes). Il s'agit d'une analyse en laboratoire des cellules entourant l'œuf. Ces cellules, appelées cellules cumulus, sont normalement retirées et jetées lors du traitement ICSI (injection intracytoplasmique de spermatozoïdes). En analysant ces cellules, nous pouvons prédire quels ovules sont les meilleurs et qui vous donneront les meilleures chances d'avoir un bébé. Votre gynécologue procédera alors au transfert de l'embryon de votre meilleur œuf. Vous aurez plus de chances de tomber enceinte et d'accoucher d'un bébé en bonne santé dès votre première tentative.

Test Aurora pour la congélation des ovules

De plus en plus de femmes reportent leur décision de devenir parents, motivées par divers facteurs. Ces dernières années, les femmes ont enfin eu la possibilité de congeler leurs ovules de haute qualité afin de préserver leur fertilité. Cela vous donnera la liberté de décider quand vous voulez fonder votre famille. Vous n'avez pas à vous soucier de la baisse de la fertilité.

Si vous décidez de congeler vos ovules, vous devrez peut-être subir une série de traitements hormonaux afin de maximiser le nombre d'ovules récupérés. Le test Aurora évaluera vos ovules après le premier traitement hormonal. Cela vous donnera plus d'informations sur la qualité de vos ovules collectés.

Finalement, ces résultats peuvent aider l'embryologiste à décider quels embryons transférer lorsque vous êtes prêt à devenir parent. Cela pourrait potentiellement éviter plusieurs cycles de transfert d'embryons.

Patients

Le test Aurora pour la FIV (ICSI)

Si vous avez du mal à tomber enceinte, la fécondation in vitro (FIV) peut être le bon choix pour vous, tout comme le test Aurora. Un cycle de FIV comprend plusieurs étapes différentes qui vous aideront à augmenter vos chances de tomber enceinte. L'étape la plus importante consiste à sélectionner l'embryon ayant le plus grand potentiel pour donner naissance à un bébé en bonne santé.

  • Vous recevrez une stimulation hormonale pour faire mûrir de nombreux ovules.
  • Après la collecte des ovules, l'embryologiste enlève les cellules du cumulus entourant l'ovule pour libérer l'ovule pour l'injection de sperme (ICSI).
  • Les ovules fécondés avec succès (maintenant appelés embryons) se développent dans l'incubateur de laboratoire pendant 3 jours.
  • En attendant, les cellules du cumulus sont analysées avec le test Aurora pour savoir lequel de vos ovules a le potentiel le plus élevé pour donner un bébé en bonne santé.
  • Votre embryologiste surveillera le développement des embryons.
  • L'embryon avec un bon développement et un score élevé au test Aurora sera choisi pour votre premier transfert.
  • En conclusion, vos chances de grossesse augmenteront considérablement avec ce test par rapport à la sélection d'embryons avec une seule évaluation visuelle.

Aurora test for ICSI - Patients - Fertiga

Qui peut utiliser le test Aurora ?

  • Si vous devez suivre un traitement ICSI.
  • Si l'on s'attend à ce que vous disposiez d'un nombre suffisant d'ovules pour obtenir au moins 2 embryons.
  • Si vous avez au maximum 39 ans.
  • Veuillez contacter votre gynécologue si le test est applicable à votre situation.

Augmentez vos chances avec le test Aurora

  • Notre étude montre des taux de grossesse plus élevés après le premier transfert (de 29% à 61% de taux de grossesse avec un seul embryon transféré après 3 jours de culture, résultats de l'UZ Brussel).
  • Vous aurez moins de cycles de traitement (ce qui signifie que cela vous coûtera moins de temps et d'argent). Notre étude clinique a montré une économie de 3 cycles de transfert en moyenne.
  • Les chances que votre premier transfert réussisse augmentent. 50% des femmes avec le test Aurora ont eu une naissance vivante dès le premier cycle de transfert d'embryons dans l'essai clinique à l'UZ Brussel.

Téléchargez notre livret d'information

Le processus de test Aurora pour congeler vos ovules

Lorsque vous décidez de congeler vos ovules pour une utilisation future, vous devrez suivre ces étapes :

  • Tout d'abord, vous recevrez une stimulation hormonale pour faire mûrir de nombreux ovules.
  • Après la collecte des ovules, l'embryologiste enlève les cellules cumulus entourant l'ovule pour libérer l'ovule pour la congélation.
  • Votre clinique congèlera vos ovules à -198°C.
  • En attendant, les cellules du cumulus sont analysées avec le test Aurora pour savoir lequel de vos ovules a le potentiel le plus élevé pour donner un bébé en bonne santé.
  • Lorsque vous reviendrez utiliser vos ovules, l'embryologiste pourra utiliser ce score pour aider à la sélection de l'embryon à transférer.

Aurora test for freezing of egg cells - Patients Fertiga

Médecins

Prédiction de la compétence des ovocytes

Le test Aurora est un test d'expression génique non invasif, effectué dans les cellules du cumulus du complexe oocyte Cumulus (COC), qui fournit un classement des ovocytes d'un patient.

Le test Aurora mesure le potentiel d'un ovocyte à se développer en un enfant sain normal pour les patients devant subir une ICSI. Après analyse des cellules du cumulus de chaque ovocyte, l'embryon de l'ovocyte au potentiel le plus élevé sera transféré dans l'utérus.

L'application de cette technologie dans la pratique de la FIV a montré que les taux de grossesse ont doublé (de 29 % à 61 %) et que les naissances vivantes ont augmenté de 27 % à 50 % après le transfert d'un seul embryon au jour 3.

Le principe du test Aurora pour la FIV (ICSI)

Pour pouvoir analyser les cellules du cumulus de chaque ovocyte individuel, la dénudation classique des ovocytes de groupe doit être adaptée à une procédure de dénudation individuelle.

Le test Aurora est réalisé sur des cellules du cumulus entourant les ovocytes d'une patiente et il est basé sur la mesure de l'expression de cinq gènes spécifiques.

Les cellules du cumulus sont isolées de chaque ovocyte et l' ARN est extrait des cellules du cumulus. La synthèse d'ADNc et la PCR en temps réel sont réalisées à l'aide de trois gènes prédictifs et de deux gènes témoins. Les résultats de la PCR conduisent à un classement quantitatif pour tous les ovocytes.

ENG Aurora test for freezing of egg cells - physicians

Le principe du test Aurora pour la congélation sociale des ovocytes

Le test Aurora est effectué sur des cellules de cumulus de tous les ovocytes d'un patient et suit le même test moléculaire que pour un patient ICSI. Les ovocytes sont classés, puis, à l'avenir, les ovocytes les mieux classés peuvent être utilisés en premier.

Aurora test for freezing egg cells - physicians

Résultats étude clinique

Taux de grossesse clinique doublé pour le SET frais du jour 3

Résultats essai clinique avec transfert électif d'embryon unique (eSET) et patients ICSI

Les résultats de notre dernière étude clinique prospective en Europe ont montré que dans le bras du test Aurora avec transfert d'embryon unique (SET) au jour 3, le taux de grossesse clinique est passé de 29 % à 61 % lors du premier cycle de transfert frais (réf.1). Il s'agissait de patients ICSI stimulés par HP-hMG. Dans le bras contrôle, les patientes ont également eu un transfert d'embryon unique au jour 3, mais avec un score morphologique uniquement.

Augmentation du taux de grossesse cumulé

Dans une étude antérieure (réf.2), les taux cumulés ont été suivis et le test Aurora a également augmenté de manière significative le taux de grossesse cumulé de 56 % à 78 % par rapport au groupe témoin du jour 3 lorsque la patiente subit des cycles consécutifs.

Augmentation du taux de naissances vivantes

Le taux de naissances vivantes est passé de 27 % à 50 % par rapport au groupe témoin au troisième jour.

Critère d'intégration

L'application du test Aurora est validée pour les patients présentant les critères suivants :

  • Stimulation avec les hormones HP-hMG (par exemple Menopur) suivie d'ICSI
  • Âge du patient entre 22 et 39 ans
  • Bonne réserve ovarienne
  • Hors infertilité masculine sévère
  • Transferts d'embryon unique au jour 3 (frais ou congelé) pour éviter la naissance de jumeaux

Le service Aurora Test offert

  • JOUR 0 : Prélèvement du complexe cumulus-ovocyte. Les cellules de cumulus doivent être prélevées pour chaque ovocyte par un embryologiste et congelées individuellement à -80°C dans des cryotubes à code-barres.
  • JOUR 0-1 : Les échantillons seront transportés dans un conteneur (transporteur sec avec N2 ou neige carbonique) vers un laboratoire d'essais cliniques à proximité qui exécute le test Aurora.
  • JOUR 1-2 : Le test Aurora (isolement de l'ARN, QPCR et analyse) est effectué dans le laboratoire d'essais cliniques.
  • JOUR 2-3 : Le laboratoire d'essais cliniques communiquera le rapport clinique à la clinique de FIV. Le rapport donne un classement de tous les ovocytes et précise quel ovocyte a le meilleur score.
  • JOUR 3 : L'embryologiste utilise ce score ainsi qu'une évaluation morphologique pour sélectionner le meilleur embryon à transférer.
  • En cas d'absence de grossesse dès le premier transfert, les embryons surnuméraires qui ont été vitrifiés seront également transférés suivant le score.

À l'avenir, l'application Aurora Test sera élargie à d'autres gonadotrophines.

Littérature

  1. Van Vaerenbergh I, Adriaenssens T, Coucke W, Van Landuyt L, Verheyen G, De Brucker M, Camus M, Platteau P, De Vos M, Van Hecke E, Rosenthal A, Smitz J. Improved clinical outcomes after non-invasive oocyte selection and Day 3 eSET in ICSI patients. Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2021 Feb 19;19(1):26. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33608027/
  2. Adriaenssens T, Van Vaerenbergh I, Coucke W, Segers I, Verheyen G, Anckaert E, De Vos M, Smitz J. Cumulus-corona gene expression analysis combined with morphological embryo scoring in single embryo transfer cycles increases live birth after fresh transfer and decreases time to pregnancy. J Assist Reprod Genet. 2019 Mar;36(3):433-443. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30627993/
  3. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Van Landuyt L, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. Pregnancy prediction in single embryo transfer cycles after ICSI using QPCR: validation in oocytes from the same cohort. PLoS One. 2013;8(4)
  4. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Janssens R, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. New candidate genes to predict pregnancy outcome in single embryo transfer cycles when using cumulus cell gene expression. Fertil Steril. 2012 Aug;98(2)
  5. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Van de Velde H, Coucke W, Ron El R, Devroey P, Smitz J. Cumulus cell gene expression predicts better cleavage-stage embryo or blastocyst development and pregnancy for ICSI patients. Hum Reprod. 2011 May;26(5)
  6. Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Wathlet S, Smitz J. The cumulus cell gene expression profile of oocytes with different nuclear maturity and potential for blastocyst formation. J Assist Reprod Genet. 2011 Jan;28(1):31-40
  7. Adriaenssens T, Wathlet S, Segers I, Verheyen G, De Vos A, Van der Elst J, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. Cumulus cell gene expression is associated with oocyte developmental quality and influenced by patient and treatment characteristics. Hum Reprod. 2010 May;25(5)

Expériences des patients

Grâce au test Aurora, les couples sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de tomber enceintes dès leur premier traitement de FIV car le test aide à identifier les embryons les plus appropriés pour l'implantation. Lisez leurs histoires ici.

Patient stories Fertiga 2

"Nous avons essayé d'avoir un bébé pendant plus d'un an et nous espérions que c'était notre solution. Rapidement, j'ai réalisé que les nombreuses visites chez le médecin, les hormones, etc. apportaient beaucoup de stress émotionnel et de pression à mon partenaire et à mon travail. J'ai entendu parler du test Aurora, un test sûr qui pourrait m'aider à tomber enceinte plus rapidement. Pas de doute, nous avons immédiatement accepté de passer ce test. J'ai eu 7 ovocytes résultant en 4 embryons viables. Le test a permis à l'embryologiste de transférer immédiatement l'embryon ayant obtenu le meilleur score. Et devinez quoi, j'étais enceinte après mon premier transfert !" -Jennifer, 30 ans

patient stories Fertiga"Nous avons eu un bébé après la FIV et rêvions de notre deuxième. Nous réfléchissions encore quand un ami nous a parlé du test Aurora. Cela augmenterait nos chances car le meilleur embryon pourrait être choisi parmi l'ovule ayant obtenu le meilleur score. Cela nous a plu et nous avons décidé de nous lancer. J'avais 12 ovocytes et 7 embryons viables. Nous étions si heureux que le test Aurora ait pu aider l'embryologiste dans sa décision et l'avons bien fait dès le premier transfert." – Sarah, 34 ans

Patient Stories Fertiga 4"Je souhaitais aussi avoir un enfant, mais j'avais définitivement sous-estimé à quel point le processus serait difficile. Et ce n'était pas bon marché non plus. Le stress, l'argent, les nombreuses discussions. Lorsque le médecin nous a parlé du test Aurora, j'ai convaincu ma femme de le faire. Elle est très anti-test génétique et a peur de toutes les nouvelles technologies. Cependant, le test Aurora ne touche pas l'embryon. Ce n'est pas un test génétique et il est sûr. Cela nous a aidés à tomber enceinte plus rapidement et nous a fait économiser beaucoup d'argent. Merci Fertiga d'avoir réalisé nos rêves." -Eric, 32 ans

 

En savoir plus sur le test Aurora

À propos

Fertiga est une société dérivée de l'un des principaux centres mondiaux de FIV, l'UZ Bruxelles en Belgique.

L'UZ Bruxelles (et L'UZ Bruxelles (et son Centre de médecine de la reproduction) a été le pionnier de la FIV, avec la naissance du premier bébé ICSI (injection intracytoplasmique de sperme) au monde en 1992. Fertiga est le premier au monde à analyser les cellules du cumulus pour améliorer les taux de naissances vivantes.

Notre objectif est d'améliorer les traitements de fertilité, de les rendre accessibles à davantage de couples et de réduire le fardeau global du traitement. En bref, notre objectif est de faire en sorte que le plus de femmes possible soient enceintes dès la première tentative.

Notre devise est un essai, un enfant.

Rencontrez nos fondateurs

Prof. Dr. Johan Smitz, Chief Medical Officer

Prof. Dr. Smitz – docteur en médecine de formation – est le chef du groupe Follicle Biology (FOBI) à l'Université Libre de Bruxelles (VUB) et membre du service de diagnostic clinique à l'Hôpital Universitaire de la VUB (UZ Bruxelles) . Johan est impliqué depuis plus de 10 ans dans le développement de nouvelles modalités de diagnostic pour prédire la compétence des ovocytes pour l'issue de la grossesse chez les femmes subissant une fécondation in vitro après stimulation hormonale. Cette technologie est un élément clé de l'offre de Fertiga sur le marché.

Ir. Elien Van Hecke, Chief Commercial Officer

Mme Van Hecke est bioingénieure de formation et titulaire d'une maîtrise en économie d'entreprise. Elle a sept ans d'expérience dans différents rôles de marketing et de vente à la fois dans la biotechnologie (Innogenetics) et de grandes entreprises de diagnostic (Fujirebio/Roche). Elien a décidé de quitter Roche Belgium pour démarrer Fertiga en 2017.

Prof. Dr. André Rosenthal, Chief Executive Officer

Le Prof. Dr. Rosenthal - biologiste moléculaire de formation - a été membre du groupe de direction (2015-2017) de Roche Sequencing, une unité commerciale dont le siège est en Californie. Il a été l'unique fondateur et PDG de Signature Diagnostic, une société de diagnostic du cancer en Allemagne, qu'il a vendue à Roche en 2015. Andre possède une vaste expérience dans la recherche clinique et expérimentale sur le cancer, la génétique humaine et la génomique. De 1994 à 2001, il a dirigé le projet allemand de séquençage du génome humain contribuant au séquençage du chromosome 21 en 2000. Il a rejoint Fertiga début 2018.

Rejoignez l'équipe de Fertiga ici

Contactez-nous

Pour plus d'informations sur le test Aurora, veuillez nous contacter ici  ou via info@fertiga.com

Contactez-nous

Veuillez prendre un moment pour remplir le formulaire de contact ci-dessous et un membre de notre équipe Fertiga vous contactera sous peu.

    fr_FR

);
Contact

Aurora Test

With the Aurora Test, we aim to help you minimize the cost, time, and stress of infertility treatments. The Aurora Test provides valuable insight into the quality of each of your retrieved eggs. It predicts which egg has the highest potential to develop into a baby.

The Aurora Test:

  • Allows the identification of the best quality egg.  It allows the transfer of a single embryo which has the highest chance to implant and become a healthy baby.
  • Significantly increases pregnancy rates per transfer.
  • Reduces the time needed to achieve pregnancy as your best egg is chosen for your first transfer. Also reduces costs as fewer transfer cycles are needed.
  • It presents no ethical issues as it is performed on the eggs’ cells. In routine treatments, those cells are normally discarded prior to the injection of sperm (ICSI).
  • Increased confidence in transferring a single embryo to avoid health risks associated with twin or triplet pregnancies.

Our aim is to improve fertility treatments to give access to more couples and to reduce the overall burden of the treatment. We strive to have as many women as possible pregnant from the first attempt.

Our motto is one try, one child.

Aurora Test for ICSI

The Aurora Test measures the quality of your eggs (also called oocytes). It is a lab analysis of the cells surrounding the egg. These cells, called cumulus cells, are normally removed and discarded during ICSI treatment (intracytoplasmic sperm injection). By analyzing these cells, we can predict which eggs are the best and that will give you the highest chance of having a baby. Your gynecologist will then transfer the embryo from your best egg. You will have an increased chance to become pregnant and deliver a healthy baby on your first attempt.

Aurora Test for freezing of eggs

More and more women are postponing their decision to become a parent, driven by a variety of factors.   In recent years, women finally got the option to freeze their high-quality eggs in order to preserve their fertility.  This will provide the freedom to decide when you want to start your family. You don’t need to worry about declining fertility.

If you decide to freeze your eggs, you may need to undergo a series of hormone treatments in order to maximize the number of eggs retrieved. The Aurora Test will score your eggs after the first hormone treatment. It will give you insights into the quality of your collected eggs.

Eventually, these results can help the embryologist decide which embryos to transfer when you are ready to become a parent. This could potentially avoid multiple cycles of embryo transfer.

Patients

The Aurora Test for IVF (ICSI)

If you’re having trouble becoming pregnant, in vitro fertilisation (IVF) may be the right choice for you and so might also the Aurora Test. An IVF cycle involves several different steps that will help you increase your chances of becoming pregnant. The most important step is selecting the embryo with the highest potential to result in the birth of a healthy baby.

  • You will receive hormone stimulation to mature many eggs.
  • After egg collection, the embryologist removes the cumulus cells surrounding the egg to free the egg for sperm injection (ICSI).
  • The successfully fertilized eggs (now called embryos) grow in the laboratory incubator for 3 days.
  • In the meantime, the cumulus cells are analysed with the Aurora Test to know which of your eggs has the highest potential to result in a healthy baby.
  • Your embryologist will monitor the development of the embryos.
  • The embryo with good development and a high Aurora Test score will be chosen for your first transfer.
  • In conclusion, your pregnancy chances will substantially increase with this test compared to embryo selection with only visual evaluation.

Aurora test for ICSI - Patients - Fertiga

Who should use the Aurora Test?

  • If you are scheduled for ICSI treatment.
  • If you are expected to have a sufficient number of eggs to obtain at least 2 embryos.
  • If you are a maximum of 39 years old.
  • Please contact your gynecologist if the test is applicable to your situation.

Improving your chances with the Aurora Test

  • Our study shows higher pregnancy rates after the first transfer (from 29% to 61% pregnancy rate with single embryo transferred after 3 days of culture, results from UZ Brussel).
  • You will have fewer treatment cycles (meaning it will cost less time and money). Our clinical study showed saving an average of 3 transfer cycles.
  • The chance that your first transfer will be successful increases. 50% of the women with the Aurora Test had a live birth from the first embryo transfer cycle in the clinical trial at UZ Brussel.

Download patient information

The Aurora Test process for freezing your eggs

When you decide to freeze your eggs for future use, you will have to follow these steps:

  • First, you will receive hormone stimulation to mature many eggs.
  • After egg collection, the embryologist removes the cumulus cells surrounding the egg to free the egg for freezing.
  • Your clinic will freeze your eggs at -198°C.
  • In the meantime, the cumulus cells are analysed with the Aurora Test to know which of your eggs has the highest potential to result in a healthy baby.
  • When you come back to use your eggs, the embryologist can use this score to aid in the selection of the embryo to be transferred.

Aurora test for freezing of egg cells - Patients Fertiga

Physicians

Oocyte competence prediction

The Aurora Test is a non-invasive gene expression test, performed in the cumulus cells of the Cumulus Oocyte Complex (COC), that provides a ranking for the oocytes of a patient.

The Aurora Test measures the potential of an oocyte to develop into a normal healthy child for patients scheduled for ICSI. After analysing the cumulus cells of each oocyte, the embryo from the oocyte with the highest potential will be transferred into the uterus.

Applying this technology in IVF practice has shown that pregnancy rates have doubled (from 29% to 61%) and live birth increased from 27% to 50% after the transfer of a single embryo on day 3.

Aurora Test Principle for IVF (ICSI)

To be able to analyse the cumulus cells of each individual oocyte, the classic group oocyte denudation needs to be adapted to an individual denudation procedure.

The Aurora Test is performed on cumulus cells surrounding the oocytes of a patient and it is based on the measurement of the expression of five specific genes.

Cumulus cells are isolated from each oocyte and RNA is extracted from the cumulus cells. cDNA synthesis and real-time PCR are performed using three predictive genes and two control genes. PCR results lead to a quantitative ranking for all oocytes.

ENG Aurora test for freezing of egg cells - physicians

Aurora Test principle for Social Oocyte Freezing

The Aurora Test is performed on cumulus cells from all oocytes from a patient and follows the same molecular testing as for an ICSI patient. The oocytes are ranked, and then, in the future, the highest-ranked oocytes can be used first.

Aurora test for freezing egg cells - physicians

Results clinical trial

Doubled clinical pregnancy rate for Day 3 fresh SET

Clinical trial with elective single embryo transfer (eSET) & ICSI patients results

Results of our latest prospective clinical study in Europe showed that in the Aurora Test arm with single embryo transfer (SET) on day 3, the clinical pregnancy rate increased from 29% to 61% in the first fresh transfer cycle (ref.1). These were ICSI patients stimulated with HP-hMG. In the control arm patients also had day 3 single embryo transfer, but with morphological scoring only.

Increased cumulative pregnancy rate

In an earlier study (ref.2) cumulative rates were followed up and the Aurora Test also significantly increased the cumulative pregnancy rate from 56% to 78% in comparison to the day 3 control group when the patient undergoes consecutive cycles.

Increased the live birth rate

The live birth rate increased from 27% to 50% in comparison to the day 3 control group.

Inclusion criteria

The application of Aurora Test is validated for patients with the following criteria:

  • Stimulation with HP-hMG hormones (e.g. Menopur) followed by ICSI
  • Patient age between 22 to 39 years
  • Good ovarian reserve
  • Excluding severe male infertility
  • Single embryo transfers on day 3 (fresh or frozen) to avoid twin birth

Aurora Test service offered

  • DAY 0: Cumulus-oocyte-complex pick-up. Cumulus cells must be removed for each oocyte by an embryologist and individually snap-frozen at -80°C in bar-coded cryovials.
  • DAY 0-1: Samples will be transported in a container (dry shipper with N2 or dry ice) to a clinical testing lab nearby which runs the Aurora Test
  • DAY 1-2: Aurora Test (RNA isolation, QPCR, and analysis) is done in the clinical testing lab.
  • DAY 2-3: Clinical testing lab will communicate Clinical Report to the IVF clinic. The report gives a ranking of all oocytes and specifies which oocyte has the best score.
  • DAY 3: The embryologist uses this score along with a morphological evaluation to select the best embryo for transfer.
  • In case there is no pregnancy from the first transfer, the supernumerary embryos which were vitrified will also be transferred following the score.

In the future, the Aurora Test application will be broadened to other gonadotrophins.

Literature

  1. Van Vaerenbergh I, Adriaenssens T, Coucke W, Van Landuyt L, Verheyen G, De Brucker M, Camus M, Platteau P, De Vos M, Van Hecke E, Rosenthal A, Smitz J. Improved clinical outcomes after non-invasive oocyte selection and Day 3 eSET in ICSI patients. Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2021 Feb 19;19(1):26. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33608027/
  2. Adriaenssens T, Van Vaerenbergh I, Coucke W, Segers I, Verheyen G, Anckaert E, De Vos M, Smitz J. Cumulus-corona gene expression analysis combined with morphological embryo scoring in single embryo transfer cycles increases live birth after fresh transfer and decreases time to pregnancy. J Assist Reprod Genet. 2019 Mar;36(3):433-443. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30627993/
  3. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Van Landuyt L, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. Pregnancy prediction in single embryo transfer cycles after ICSI using QPCR: validation in oocytes from the same cohort. PLoS One. 2013;8(4)
  4. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Janssens R, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. New candidate genes to predict pregnancy outcome in single embryo transfer cycles when using cumulus cell gene expression. Fertil Steril. 2012 Aug;98(2)
  5. Wathlet S, Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Verheyen G, Van de Velde H, Coucke W, Ron El R, Devroey P, Smitz J. Cumulus cell gene expression predicts better cleavage-stage embryo or blastocyst development and pregnancy for ICSI patients. Hum Reprod. 2011 May;26(5)
  6. Adriaenssens T, Segers I, Wathlet S, Smitz J. The cumulus cell gene expression profile of oocytes with different nuclear maturity and potential for blastocyst formation. J Assist Reprod Genet. 2011 Jan;28(1):31-40
  7. Adriaenssens T, Wathlet S, Segers I, Verheyen G, De Vos A, Van der Elst J, Coucke W, Devroey P, Smitz J. Cumulus cell gene expression is associated with oocyte developmental quality and influenced by patient and treatment characteristics. Hum Reprod. 2010 May;25(5)

Patient stories

Thanks to the Aurora test, couples are much more likely to get pregnant from their first IVF treatment as the test helps with the identification of the most suitable embryos for implantation. Read their stories here.

Patient stories Fertiga 2

“We tried to have a baby for more than 1 year and we hoped this was our solution. Quickly I realized that the many doctor visits, hormones, etc brought a lot of emotional stress and pressure on my partner and on my job.  I learned about the Aurora Test, a safe test that could help me get pregnant faster. No doubt, we immediately agreed to get this test. I had 7 oocytes resulting in 4 viable embryos. The test allowed the embryologist to transfer the best-scoring embryo immediately. And guess what, I was pregnant after my first transfer!” -Jennifer, 30 years

patient stories Fertiga“We had one baby after IVF and were dreaming about our second one. We were still considering when a friend told us about the Aurora Test. It would increase our chances as the best embryo could be chosen from the best-scoring egg. It appealed to us and we decided to go for it. I had 12 oocytes and 7 viable embryos. We were so happy that the Aurora Test could help the embryologist in his decision and got it right from the first transfer.” – Sarah, 34 years

Patient Stories Fertiga 4“I also wished to have a child, but I definitely underestimated how hard the process would be. And it wasn’t cheap either. The stress, the money, the many discussions. When the doctor told us about the Aurora Test, I convinced my wife to get it. She is very anti-genetic testing and is scared about all new technologies. However, the Aurora Test does not touch the embryo. It is not a genetic test and is safe. It helped us to get pregnant faster and saved us a lot of money. Thank you Fertiga for making our dreams come true.” -Eric, 32 years

 

Read more about the Aurora test

About us

Fertiga is a spin-off company from one of the global IVF leading centers, UZ Brussels in Belgium.

UZ Brussels (and its Center of Reproductive Medicine) has been pioneering IVF, with the first ICSI baby (Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection) worldwide being born in 1992.  Fertiga is the first provider worldwide on the analysis of cumulus cells to improve live birth rates.

Our goal is to improve fertility treatments, make them accessible to more couples and reduce the overall burden of treatment. We aim to get as many women as possible pregnant from the first attempt.

Our motto is one try, one child.

Meet our founders

Prof. Dr. Johan Smitz, Chief Medical Officer

Prof Smitz – a medical doctor by training – is the head of the Follicle Biology (FOBI) group at the Free University of Brussels (VUB) and a member of the clinical diagnostics department at the University Hospital of VUB (UZ Brussels). Johan has been involved for more than 10 years in the development of new diagnostic modalities to predict oocyte competence for pregnancy outcomes in women undergoing in-vitro fertilization after hormone stimulation. This technology is a key component of Fertiga’s offering in the market.

Ir. Elien Van Hecke, Chief Commercial Officer

Ms. Van Hecke is a bioengineer by training and holds a master’s in business economics. She has seven years of experience in different marketing and sales roles both in Biotech (Innogenetics) and large diagnostic companies (Fujirebio/Roche). Elien decided to exit Roche Belgium to start up Fertiga in 2017.

Prof. Dr. André Rosenthal, Chief Executive Officer

Prof Rosenthal – a molecular biologist by training – was a member of the leadership group (2015-2017) of Roche Sequencing, a business unit headquartered in California. He was the sole founder and CEO of Signature Diagnostic, a cancer diagnostic company in Germany, which he sold to Roche in 2015. Andre has extensive experience in clinical and experimental cancer research, human genetics, and genomics. From 1994 to 2001 he was the head of the German Human Genome Sequencing Project contributing to the sequencing of chromosome 21 in 2000.  He joined Fertiga at the beginning of 2018.

Join the Fertiga team here

Contact us

For more information and to access the Aurora Test, please contact us here  or via info@fertiga.com

Contact us

Please take a moment to fill out the contact form below and a member of our Fertiga team will be in touch with you shortly.

    en_GB